About a month ago we went away to Bluestone Resort, west Wales for a much needed recuperative break after the ghastly Novovirus had hit the entire family. The five-star resort with an excellent reputation was a natural choice as it's only an hour and a half down the road from us, and the lack of commercialism is exactly the type of thing we look for when searching for a relaxing break.
Unfortunately, two rather important errors in the accommodation during our stay, prompted me to write this blog-post sharing the failures, and successes, that happened to us that weekend. It seems I find it very difficult to go anywhere now without my review hat on. I e-mailed them the link and waited to see what would happen.
I received a phonecall within a few days from one of their customer service representatives who assured me that my complaints had been referred to the board of directors and were being investigated fully. He was incredibly sincere and co-operative, and I thank him for his attention. I've since had this e-mail which I thought I'd share part of it with you:
I am writing in response to your correspondence regarding your recent visit to Bluestone. Please be assured that we have taken your comments on board. We value your thoughts as we operate within a culture of continuous improvement at Bluestone and without our customer feedback, we would not be able to fulfil our objectives, which is to improve our standard of services from one guest to the next.
Thank you for your honest review of Bluestone. We would like to take this opportunity to thank for the depth and detail that you have included.
I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with the Adventure Centre facilities and the Customer service you received during your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments who are delighted to receive them.
With regards to your buggy hire, the current rate is £70 for your stay. The daily rate is only available to guests already staying on park and is not available to pre-book as the buggies are subject to availability.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the level of cleanliness of your accommodation. This certainly is not the standard that we expect at Bluestone. I have been in touch with our Housekeeping Manager who has assured me that the toilet area is included on their check list, however it does appear that this was unfortunately missed in your accommodation. This issue has been highlighted to all supervisors and all members of staff have now been re-briefed to ensure this type of incident does not happen again
I have noted your comments relating to the mattresses. Our new lodges (Gateholm lodges) which are currently in the completion stages do contain new and different mattresses to the ones used in our current lodges; we also have an ongoing renovation program of all lodges during which we are replacing mattresses in all current lodges.
There was obviously some additional information relevant to our particular situation, which I won't be sharing. However, I am thoroughly impressed with the level of care and attention that Bluestone have given to our experience at their resort. I can accept that the dirty toilet was a one-off situation that slipped through the net, my main concern was the mattresses and so I've very pleased to see that they are replacing them all with a different type of mattress as part of their renovation process.
Well done Bluestone, my faith is restored!